Beauty · Project Pan 2017

PROJECT PAN – Things I want to hit pan on/use up by the end of the year!

So I’ve had a bit of a realisation recently – I have a lot of make-up.

No, seriously, a lot of make-up. I have so much make-up, and while I’m fairly good at decluttering stuff I don’t or rarely use, there is still a lot of it there always, and because of that I never really get through many products. I’ll finish a brow pencil here, a mascara there, but in terms of actually getting through a whole eyeshadow or foundation or lipstick – that’s rare for me. And that’s not good, because there’s so much of it here, but am I using it to its full potential? No. Should I be, when a lot of these things were crazy expensive and are now just sitting in a drawer? Oh, definitely.

And that’s what’s led to this thought process. Because hitting pan on make-up items is really truly so satisfying and it feels good to know that what you’re spending money on is getting the use. So with that in mind, I’ve decided to start a project – a Project Pan.

One of these videos appeared one day in my Recommended section on YouTube, and I was intrigued so I watched it, then spent the evening toppling down the rabbit hole of similar videos. People were using up products that I’ve not even made dents in – Tarte blushes, OFRA highlighters, even whole eyeshadow palettes – and they were proud of themselves for it. They were getting their money’s worth of a product and using it up, and then they could justify going out and buying another palette.

I recently hit pan on my NARS Soft Matte Complete Concealer, and I’m well on the way to using it up. That product was £23, which is money that some people would never dream of spending on a concealer. I love that product, which is great, but over the past few years I’ve been so guilty of spending twice that money on products that just gather dust. I want to use up that product, and I want to use up more stuff so I can tick it off my list. I don’t need twelve concealers, yet I have a drawer stuffed with them, and with that in mind, I want to start working through them.

Obviously hitting pan isn’t something you do on foundations or primers or lipsticks, so I’ve made a point to say I want to work through them rather than ‘hit pan’. I’ll keep track of my progress on this project once a month on here, and hopefully I’ll be able to make a solid dent in this products by the end of the year. Twenty products is definitely ambitious, especially given how much make-up I have, because I don’t want to neglect other products and I don’t wear make-up every day, but I hope I’m able to do at least 50% of this. This is also part of the reason I’ve only opted to hit pan on half of these, because I find it incredibly difficult to work through a whole powder. But here we are, my list of products for my Project Pan 2017!

Ten things I want to hit pan on:

  1. MAC Mineralise Skinfinish Natural in Light Plus (£24.50, buy here)
  2. MAC Mineralise Skinfinish in Global Glow (I use as a bronzer) (£24.50, buy here)
  3. MAC Sculpting Powder in Shadester (£16.50, buy here)
  4. NARS Laguna Bronzer (deluxe sample size) (£29 for the full size, buy here)
  5. NYX Highlight and Contour pan in Bone (£3.50, buy here)
  6. BECCA x Jaclyn Hill Shimmering Skin Perfector in Champagne Pop (£32, buy here)
  7. Makeup Geek eyeshadow pan in Cocoa Bear (£4.95, buy here)
  8. Makeup Geek eyeshadow pan in Chickadee (£4.95, buy here)
  9. Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance palette – Burnt Orange (£41 for the palette, buy here)
  10. Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance palette – Vermeer (£41 for the palette, buy here)

Ten other products I want to use up/run through:

  1. Stila One Step Correct Skin Tone Correcting Brightening Serum (£24, buy here)
  2. L’Oreal True Match Foundation in Rose Ivory (£9.99, buy here)
  3. IT Cosmetics Your Skin But Better CC+ Cream in Light (travel size) (£30 for the full size, buy here)
  4. NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer in Chantilly (£23, buy here)
  5. NARS Soft Matte Complete Concealer in Vanilla (£23, buy here)
  6. Urban Decay Naked Skin Concealer in Fair Neutral (£19, buy here)
  7. Too Faced Born This Way Concealer in Fair (£20, buy here)
  8. Makeup Geek eyeshadow pan in Beaches & Cream (£4.95, buy here)
  9. Bite Beauty Amuse Bouche Lipstick in Honeycomb ($26, buy here)
  10. NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in London (£6, buy here)

I’ve not hit pan yet on anything listed above, but I went through all my make-up and chose the products I use daily and have the biggest dents in them. I’m excited to keep track of my progress, and I hope this inspires you to do something similar – even if it’s just for one product! Thanks for reading, peace out xoxox

 

 

One thought on “PROJECT PAN – Things I want to hit pan on/use up by the end of the year!

Leave a Reply

