Beauty · Yay or Nay?

BECCA x Chrissy Teigen vs. BECCA x Jaclyn Hill – similarities, differences, do you need both?

It’s no secret here on my blog that I looove BECCA Cosmetics. Every release they come out with is a release I get excited for, and their new palette (£45, buy here) that they created in a collaboration with Chrissy Teigen was no exception. I couldn’t wait until it came out on Cult Beauty here in the UK, so I placed an order on Beautylish on the day it was released and, about ten days later, it was mine.

I wanted to hold off a little on sharing my thoughts on here because I wanted to get a fair amount of use out of the palette first. On first impressions you can tell that the palette is more inclined towards those with darker skin than mine – Chrissy is a WoC, after all – but I can make it work if I use a very light hand. It contains two highlighters – their Shimmering Skin Perfectors in Rose Gold (permanent) and Beach Nectar (limited edition), a Sunlit Bronzer in the shade Malibu Soleil, and a blusher in Hibiscus Bloom. It’s a very beautiful palette, perfect for minimal make-up on the beach or on a hot day, but…

About this time a year ago, I purchased the BECCA x Jaclyn Hill palette. Also limited edition, also with two Shimmering Skin Perfectors, and objectively very similar.

IMG_1376

Well.

When you pop these two palettes side by side, they do look extremely similar, don’t they?

Jaclyn Hill’s Champagne Glow palette contains the infamous Champagne Pop (which I already own in full size and have almost hit pan on), and Prosecco Pop (which was advertised originally as limited edition, but you can buy the full size on Space NK), and also three blushes in Rosé Spritz, Amaretto, and Pamplemousse. Amaretto was always too dark for me to use as a blush but I could use it as a bronzer, and I love the other two blushes but because they’re limited edition I don’t reach for them too often, and to be honest I barely ever reach for this palette because I have my full size Champagne Pop and other blushes that I prefer. I won’t lie, I mostly bought the palette because I’m a huge fan of Jaclyn.

Let’s compare swatches.

IMG_1381.JPG

We have the Chrissy Teigen blush in Hibiscus Bloom on the left and Jaclyn’s Rosé Spritz on the right. I found that Rosé Spritz was a lot more pigmented but I prefer less colour payoff in a blush a lot of the time – it’s very easy to go overboard otherwise. Both have similar shimmers running through them that don’t always translate on camera but look great on the cheeks, and to be honest, I don’t see much of a difference between them. I could use them interchangeably and not really be able to tell.

IMG_1383.JPG

Here we have the two bronzier shades – Malibu Soleil on the left and Amaretto on the right – side by side. On my pale skin there really isn’t much of a difference, except Amaretto is clearly a little bit more neutral while Malibu Soleil pulls a little bit warmer. Again, at least for me they’re rather interchangeable! I feel, however, there would be a more noticeable difference on darker skin, which is important to note!

And finally, swatches of their Shimmering Skin Perfectors!

IMG_1386.JPG

Comparing both the “limited edition” shades – Beach Nectar on the left and Prosecco Pop on the right. These are clearly very different, and it’s in the highlighters that the biggest differences between the palettes lie. Both are too dark for me to use as highlighters on my pasty white face, but what I’ve been really enjoying doing is getting a big fluffy brush (like my MAC 135 or my EcoTools Powder Brush) and dusting Beach Nectar over my contour to be extra shimmery and extra glowy this summer. Prosecco Pop is virtually untouched for me, however.

My overall opinion on this is that if you have one, you definitely don’t need the other. If you were never able to get your hands on the Jaclyn Hill palette or you love your Jaclyn Hill palette and you want a back-up, then this is well worth picking up because I think it dupes it very well, so to speak. If you’re worried about how it’ll work on fair skin, I’ve worn the blusher and the bronzer a good few times (a light hand is definitely the key!) but as I said, both the highlighters are too dark for me to wear as highlighters so I’ve been using them a lot more as cheek toppers to give myself more of an all-over glow.

I love my make-up and I’m an avid collector, so I’m happy to have them both in my collection! And you are getting a lot of bang for your buck – BECCA products are hella expensive at the best of times, and for reference a full-sized Champagne Pop (8g) or their new Prismatic Amethyst (7g) would set you back £32 apiece, whereas in this palette you’re getting two 5g highlighting pans and two 2.4g bronzer/blush pans for £45.

If I could change anything, I would make the bronzer pan a little bigger because I find a pan that small is just a little bit tricky to work with, but I do also feel like they’ve improved the formula of the Shimmering Skin Perfectors too – I feel like they’re less powdery and a lot more sturdy – I’ve had a Champagne Pop shatter on me in the past and it is heartbreaking, let me tell you! I hope this new formula gets carried on into their future products because I definitely prefer it!

Do you have either of these palettes? If so, what do you think? If not, are you considering buying the Chrissy Teigen one? Let me know in the comments below! Thanks for reading, you da best xoxox

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’

2 thoughts on “BECCA x Chrissy Teigen vs. BECCA x Jaclyn Hill – similarities, differences, do you need both?

Leave a Reply

