Beauty · Yay or Nay?

ANTI HAUL #2 – Make-Up I Will NOT Be Buying!

Hello again! It’s that time of year again where we get a million and one releases from every brand out there as summer approaches, and I thought it’d be the perfect opportunity to make another anti-haul post!

I’ve made one of these before, and it went down really well because I think everyone can relate to having all of this new make-up thrust in our faces, but most of it we don’t want, or need, or really isn’t anything special. As I mentioned in my last post, a lot of these come from brands I love and respect, but it’s just this release that doesn’t interest me or confuses me or something similar. And just because I don’t want it, doesn’t mean you can’t want it, have purchased it or love it! Do you, boo.

Without further ado, let’s get into the anti-haul!

Huda Beauty 3D Highlight Palettes (£40 each, buy here)

In my opinion, this is one of the most disappointing and over-hyped beauty launches of the year so far. I have heard basically nobody talking about them on Instagram or YouTube or anything, and all the reviews I’ve read have been scathing. I don’t think they’re anything special, nor do I think there’s enough of a difference between them to warrant her releasing two, and the formula is apparently inconsistent and very chunky with glitter. I think that with these glow kit-esque highlighting palettes coming in from all sides, a lot of them are rushed or are trying to hard and I feel that this is the case here. Cult Beauty – where I buy a substantial amount of my high-end make-up – sent out multiple emails telling me that these WILL SELL OUT, and as far as I’m aware… well, they haven’t. I like her lashes, I’m mixed on the one lip product I’ve tried, but this is just a firm no from me.

Anastasia Beverly Hills Aurora Glow Kit (£39, buy here)

Speaking of glow kits, here’s another product that I have no interest in. For me, this palette would essentially be a giant shimmery eyeshadow palette because I doubt I’d ever wear these on my cheeks. I have three glow kits now – Gleam, Moonchild, and Nicole Guerriero – and all of these I love and get lots of use out of, but I think that because they were such a hit and have continued to be hits, they keep rolling them out super fast. I have heard things about inconsistencies in the formulas of these, and everyone I’ve seen using them has used them as eyeshadows over highlighters. I think some may work on darker skin, and it definitely is a unique concept, but I don’t think it’s anything I’d reach for or particularly enjoy. ABH is one of my fave brands, so I’m usually super excited for a new release, but this missed the mark for me.

By Terry Sun Designer Palettes each (£65, buy here)

This palette is visually beautiful, but sooo impractical and it’s £65! It feels like they’ve gone for aesthetic over practically as surely all the shadows will start to mix together with prolonged usage, and picking up one colour without touching the colour seems like it would be a struggle. I get what they were trying to do – it seems like a similar concept to the Charlotte Tilbury Instant Look in a Palette – but a lot more impractical and a lot less flattering. Two palettes for two different skintones is nice in theory, but in my mind I’d want the eyeshadows from one and the bronzer/blusher/highligher from the other, and I ain’t spending £130 on both. Save your money.

Jouer Springtime in Paris Eyeshadow Palette (£35, buy here)

This palette is again, objectively very beautiful, but I’m not wowed by it. As you might be able to tell, I’ve not be wowed by many new palette launches recently and I’m itching to try some new eyeshadows because I feel like I’m stuck in a Make-Up Geek/Modern Renaissance/Zoeva Cocoa Blend rut. When I first saw this I was intruiged, but I feel like I have all these colours in other palettes, and because of that I’m giving it a miss. Nothing against the brand – I love their lip toppers and their lip cremes are FAB, but this also missed the mark for me.

Natasha Denona Sculpt and Glow Contouring Palette (£69, buy here)

Listen, the day I spend sixty nine English pounds on a contour palette with the same layout and shades as every other contour palette I own is the day pigs fly and the sky turns green. No further questions, your honour.

Real Techniques Cleansing Sponge (£5.99, buy here)

I love Real Techniques brushes a lot, but sometimes they come out with these sponge releases that really baffle me. I mentioned another one of their sponges in my previous anti-haul, but after feeling a display one of these in Boots the other week, I can say with confidence that it’s a no from me regarding this one too. I don’t really get this sponge. It feels hard, abrasive and definitely too much for my sensitive skin. Make-up would gather in the holes if you used it as a remover and I don’t really see what benefits this holds over using your fingers to wash your face before make-up, so. No, thank you.

Urban Decay Primers – De-Slick, Self-Adjusting, Optical Illusion, Urban Defence (£23 each, buy here

I love Urban Decay, I love primers, but none of these felt nice when I tried them on the back of my hand and I’ve not heard the best reviews about any of them either. I’ve heard horror stories of these turning people’s foundation orange, I’ve heard horror stories about these making people’s base make-up ball up and come off, and I’ve heard that they can go crusty and peely – none of which are things I want to happen to my make-up. At £23, I’m not sure I’m willing to risk it!

 

What are your thoughts on these items? Please let me know in the comments below, along with any eyeshadow palette recommendations you may have! Thanks for reading, you da best xoxox

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’

Leave a Reply

