Beauty · Hauls · Yay or Nay?

TARTE Haul, First Impressions & (Nearly) Full Face!

Guess what? I bought more make-up.

Is anyone even surprised at this point? No? Good.

I love almost everything I’ve tried from Tarte so far, so when an email popped into my inbox about them offering SEVEN PRODUCTS FOR FIFTY POUNDS, I was on that website faster than the speed of love.

Within the deal, you could choose a foundation, a blusher, a mascara, an eye product (liner or cream shadow), a brush, a lip product, and a make-up bag. The make-up bag felt like a bit of a cop out, but I managed to pick up a super cool holographic snakeskin one that fits all my brushes in nicely, so that’ll be a great addition to my travel bag. On top of that, the deal offered some make-up that I’d been dying to try for ages now, and what with the brush and the foundation adding up to £60 together and them being what I was most excited for, it seemed like a no-brainer.

I decided to do a quick and easy look made up almost entirely of Tarte products too. I love the brand and I’ve been super impressed so far, so I’m excited to see how they work together.

I don’t have a primer from Tarte so I began my base with two classics for me – the Embryolisse Lait-Creme Concentre and the Smashbox Primer Water. Simple yet effective.

Double Duty Beauty Empowered Hybrid Gel Foundation in the shade Fair-Light Neutral (£30, buy here)

Here are some claims about this foundation taken from the Tarte website:

Immediately:

  • 100% of women said skin felt smoother and softer.
  • 94% of women said skin tone appeared more even.
  • 91% of women said skin appeared brighter.

After 1 week:

  • 94% of women said skin appeared and felt more hydrated.
  • 94% of women saw a reduction in the appearance of redness.
  • 91% of women said pores appeared less visible.

Can you now see why I was so interested in trying this?

The foundation is in literally the dumbest container for foundation I’ve ever come across. It’s messy, it’s unhygienic and I really wasn’t sure how to actually get the product onto my face, so I just ended up dotting the foundation that had gathered in the lid directly onto my skin and blending it out with my beauty blender. It smells like roses, like pure rosewater, so if you’re sensitive to scent (like me) then that’s definitely something to keep in mind.

I really thought this was going to be full coverage, but it’s more medium, and DEFINITELY not buildable. When I tried to build it it started to go patchy and it took a lot of work to get it looking as it did before again, so I figured I’ll just go in with concealer instead.

It feels as comfy as any other foundation does – I can tell I’m wearing make-up, but it’s not particularly heavy. I can still bloody smell it though. I’m excited to see its wear throughout the day because everyone in the reviews section of the Tarte website says it does a great job in that, and also if use over time does actually have the skincare benefits it claims. More to follow.

 

obviously went in with my Tarte Shape Tape to brighten and conceal – you already know.

Now here’s the thing – I love this concealer. I’ve never had any issue with this concealer blending over any other foundation, be it drugstore, high-end, or if I’m just dotting a little bit on my bare skin to hide my dark circles. Never. But this foundation didn’t really seem to agree with me putting concealer over the top, despite the fact they’re both quite similar in texture and also from the same damn Tarte line (the Double Duty Beauty line), but it really moved around on my nose and over my blemishes. I’m very confused, and it took a lot of patting and blending to get it look as I’d like it. Hmmm.

I set my undereyes with my Maybelline Master Fix powder and my face with my MAC Mineralise Skinfinish Natural in Light Plus – again, my two every days. I spritzed my face with Fix+ as I always do for the powders to settle into the product below better and it seems to have done the job.

Swirl Power Contour & Bronzer Brush (£30, buy here)

IMG_1299

I also didn’t get a bronzer in this haul, nor do I own a Tarte bronzer, so I reached for my NARS Laguna. I did, however, get this giant contouring and bronzing brush, and I really liked the application this gave me. It’s great for creating a precise line (almost like a fatter version of the NARS Ita Brush) and it blends it out better than I was anticipating. The bristles are dense but soft and even though the handle is a little big and bulky to hold comfortably, I’m very happy with how it blended out the product. It didn’t move my base from underneath and it feels good quality and sturdy (which you’d hope it would be for the price!).

Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in the shade Captivating (£23, buy here)

This doesn’t seem to be in stock on the website t the moment, but Ive been after this shade for bloody ages as it’s everything I love in a blush – peachy, matte, compact, and long-lasting. I already knew I loved the Tarte blushes because I used to own a couple more, but this one is dreamy. Definitely something I’ll be reaching for loads in the summer as it blends like a dream, lasts all day, and goes with pretty much every make-up look I do.

No Tarte highlighters in my collection either, so I went in with a very light dusting of Ofra’s Everglow. Now onto the eyes.

Amazonian Clay Pot Waterproof Liner in the shade Spirit Animal (£18, buy here)

I am not an eyeliner girl in the slightest – I’ve found myself allergic to every single liquid liner I’ve ever tried, and gel liner always seems like a huge faff, so I just leave it alone – so I went for a colour of liner that I could use as an eyeshadow colour (this is also suggested in its description on the website). I love this colour in the pan – a bronzy copper – but on the lids it’s comes out very golden, and not very opaque at all, which makes me question how this can be an eyeliner, let alone a cream shadow. I always apply cream shadows with my fingers, so that’s how I approached this, but I’m not sure this is the right way to go about it as it creased, moved around, and generally looked a bit of a shambles. I tried blending it out and not blending it out (using my Tarteist Pro Palette, a fab palette with highly pigmented and blendable colours, one I know I can rely on), and in the end it took me about ten minutes to get it to look halfway decent. I’ll try again, but at the moment with its fiddly little pot and odd formula, this is possibly my least favourite item so far.

Lights, Camera, Flashes Statement Mascara (£20, buy here)

I have been a big fan of both the Tarte mascaras I’ve tried – the regular Lights, Camera, Lashes and the Maneater mascara – and this one is no exception. Like the LCL it provides a lot of length and separation, but I prefer the wand on this one. I also tend to prefer mascaras that I’ve let dry a little, so I’m hoping this one gets better with age, like a fine wine. My Maneater mascara is almost at the end of its life, so I’m excited to see how this one fares as its replacement.

And finally, lips.

Drench Lip Splash Lipstick in Top Down (£17, buy here)

I am absolutely obsessed with the colour of this lipstick, but everything else about the product has been a huge let down. The packaging feels quite cheap and flimsy, and on top of that it’s longer than a standard lipstick but has, frankly, a pathetic amount of product inside. It’s considerably smaller than any other lipstick I’ve ever purchased in similar-style packaging (the middle pic shows it rolled up all the way), and I’m not pleased. I therefore assumed it would be super pigmented, a little going a long way etc, but it takes a fair amount of product to get it to the opacity I’d want for a colour like this, and I fear I will run through this fairly quickly. But it is a beautiful colour, so I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled for dupes of this that are more readily available here in the UK.

 

In total, this bundle cost me £50 and £9.79 in shipping and customs fees. Collectively without this deal on, this collection would have cost me £138 (excluding the bag because I can’t find it on their site at all), which means I’ve saved myself £78.21 in this order, which is a pretty flipping good saving if you ask me.

On first impressions, I’m loving the brush and the blush and the mascara a lot. As I’ve worn this make-up through the day, I feel like the foundation has started to look better as time goes on – more like skin and nowhere near as cakey as some of my other foundations can go. I still think the packaging is trash, but I’m going to continue to wear it and see if the skincare claims hold up. I’m still not loving the clay pot, but again it does look better now I’ve been wearing it for a few hours, and as for the lippie? I love the colour so much, but I feel like I’ve been let down by everything else about it, which isn’t great.

Let me know if you’ve tried anything from the bundle mentioned here, or if you have any other recommendations for the brand in general! Thanks for reading, you da best xoxox

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’

 

Leave a Reply

