Beauty · Best of... · Yay or Nay?

If all my make-up disappeared, what would I repurchase?

Hello, my name is Ellen and I’m addicted to buying make-up.

Having said that, and as much as I love trying new things, I have my fail-safes that I always go back to. I’ve recently acquired a lot of new stuff – some good and some bad – but as I was reorganising my collection to fit all this stuff, I got to thinking. If all my make-up suddenly disappeared for whatever reason, what would I go out and buy again?

When it came down to it, it was super easy for me to pick! There are so many products I love and just reach for without really thinking about, from primers to foundations to lip products, ones I take when I travel with work and go away for weekends and know that I’m solid and can create a variety of looks with them. I can go daytime and night-time, I can go full coverage and light coverage, I can go grungy or smoky or light. Basically, I went for things that are versatile, comfortable, long lasting, and just bloody great products that I’ve been using for months and months.

PRIMERS – BECCA Backlight Priming Filter (£32, buy here) and NYX Angel Veil Primer (£13, buy here)

IMG_1218.JPG

This is my favourite primer combination of all time! The NYX one is smoothing and moisturising while the BECCA one gives your skin the most beautiful glow, and together they’re a dream team. One is obviously a lot more expensive than the other, but in my eyes it’s totally worth it. My skin looks its best when I’ve got this on under a medium-ish coverage foundation, and it’s become my every day combination. I love both so much, so I’d definitely pick these up again, and will continue to for as long as they’re both available.

FOUNDATION – L’Oreal True Match Foundation (£9.99, buy here) and Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation (£40, buy here)

IMG_1221.JPG

Neither of these foundations have ever failed me. Both lightweight on the skin, both dewey and buildable in formula, and both finishes that don’t cling to my dry patches, they leave my skin feeling luminous (as the name might suggest), hydrated, and I can rely on them to last a really good amount of time. If I’ve got a new foundation that’s a little too matte or I’m finding it a little difficult to work with, I’ll add a pump of one of these in and it generally sorts them right out. I love combining the Luminous Silk with the Power Fabric, also by Giorgio Armani, for example – that has quickly become my favourite foundation combo EVER.

Apparently they’re both made in the same factory, which might explain their similarities. I do need to set them with powder, or else I find they can and do transfer, but I’ll take it for the healthy glowy fabulous base I get with these. My absolute musts.

CONCEALER – NARS Soft Matte Complete Concealer (£23, buy here) and Tarte Shape Tape (£19, buy here)

IMG_1224.JPG

Listen. The hype with both of these products has been big, and I’m here to tell you it’s real. I use the NARS one for blemishes and the Tarte one to highlight, and they’re basically the only concealers I reach for anymore, whether I’m doing full coverage or light coverage, daytime or night-time. I don’t think I’d be able to do my make-up the same without these, and while I used to be obsessed with buying concealers to find the perfect one, I’ve found them. These are all I need, always.

POWDER – MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light Plus (£24, buy here) and Rimmel Stay Matte Powder (£3.99, buy here)

IMG_1228.JPG

I am a dry skinned gal, so using matte powders might seem a little odd to some, but I find that if you use literally the lightest dusting of both – I’m talking one brush tap into the pan – this is all I need. A little goes a long way, and I’m obsessed with both of these because I can’t be bothered to reach for loose powders most of the time, frankly. But these do what they say on the tin – they set my make-up, stop my concealer from creasing, and make it super easy to blend blusher and bronzer over the top. The Rimmel one is a cult favourite for a reason and I love it for a night out, but I tend to favour the MAC one for day to day because I find it sets without taking away too much of the dewiness of my favourite foundations. Again, there’s one heck of a price difference, but in my eyes they’re both total necessities in my collection.

BRONZER – Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze and Glow Sculpt Duo (£49, buy here) and MAC Sculpting Powder in Shadester (£16.50, buy here)

IMG_1231.JPG

I use one of these almost every single time I do my make-up because nothing contours and bronzes me like these two bad boys. The Filmstar Bronze and Glow is ashy enough to contour and nice and soft, so it’s almost impossible to go overboard, but if I want to go a bit overboard and be snatched af I use the MAC powder, which is a little darker and a little warmer. They’re never patchy, always blend like a dream, and just work so well on my skintone. I just love them, and even though repurchasing the Filmstar Bronze and Glow will really hurt my bank account, it’s gotta be done.

BLUSHER – Benefit Galifornia Blush (£24.50, buy here) and Zoeva Nude Spectrum Blush Palette (£15, buy here)

IMG_1233.JPG

I don’t feel like I need to wax lyrical about these blushes any more than I have in my previous blog posts, but they’re both so bloody brilliant that I have to do it again. I tend to stick to nude blushes or peachy blushes, and these cover all those avenues to me, and honestly? I could live without all my other blushes if I just had this palette and this one boxed blush.  So versatile, so beautiful, so necessary in my make-up collection.

HIGHLIGHTER – Sleek Make Up Solstice Palette (£9.99, buy here) and MAC Extra Dimension Skinfinish in Double Gleam (£24.50, buy here)

IMG_1237.JPG

I thought this would be the hardest category to pick from, but it just wasn’t. I like my highlight champagne, blinding and almost wet-looking, and you know what? These give me exactly what I want every single time. Simple as that.

EYEBROWS – Anastasia Beverly Hills Dipbrow Pomade (£15, buy here) and L’Oreal Brow Artist Plumper (£6.99, buy here)

IMG_1250.JPG

I have repurchased both of these more times than I can count. I don’t know how to do my make-up without the dipbrow anymore, and with this brow gel I have bulletproof brows that’ll last until I take them off. That’s all you need, really.

EYESHADOW PALETTE – Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance palette (£41, buy here)

IMG_1259.JPG

This is the only eyeshadow palette I need. It’s warm, it’s rich, it blends like a dream and I feel like I can create infinite looks with it. If everything disappeared and I had to buy just one eyeshadow palette it would without a doubt be this. I reach for it more than any of my other palettes and I always know that I’ll get a good look out of this. It’s phenomenal, it truly is.

MASCARA – L’Oreal Miss Baby Roll Mascara (£7.99, buy here)

IMG_1260.JPG

This is a relatively new mascara, but I really truly believe it’s the best mascara I’ve ever tried. It says mega volume and it means mega volume, it’s thickening and it’s lengthening – to the point where my tiny stubby lashes actually touch my sockets when I layer it – and I feel like I can get away with not even wearing lashes when I wear this. I am ob-bloody-sessed and it’s literally the only mascara I’ve used since I bought it, and I will bloody well buy it again.

FALSE LASHES – Flutter Lashes in the style Intoxicating (£12.95, buy here)

IMG_1242.JPG

These are the only eyelashes I have continued to buy consistently (apart from the House of Lashes Iconics, but I don’t reach for them nearly as often as these) because they just look so bloody good on my eyes. They are drama llama af, but they’re fluffy and rounded and really open my eyes, and because I never ever wear winged liner they make any look have the drama a wing might give it. They’re so comfortable and so easy to apply and they’re everything I’ve ever wanted in a lash. And they’re a lot cheaper than a lot of the other lashes I’ve worn, and they last me easily 20 wears. I have and will continue to buy these until I find something I like more (not likely).

LIPS – MAC Matte Lipstick in Honeylove (£16.50, buy here), Kylie Cosmetics Liquid Lipstick in 22 ($29, buy here), and Bite Beauty Amuse Bouche Lipstick in Honeycomb ($26, buy here)

IMG_1263.JPG

As much as I’m loathed to admit that my all-time favourite red lipstick is by Kylie Cosmetics, I can’t deny that 22 is my ultimate go to red shade and I love it so much. It’s just so comfortable to wear and it’s vibrant and it lasts all day and I’m mad about it because it’s ridiculous to get your hands on but I’ve bought it twice and I’m waiting for it to come back in stock before I buy it again. Sigh.

Honestly, I didn’t mean for both of my favourite nudes to have the word ‘honey’ in the title, but I guess I have a type. The main difference is Honeylove by MAC is matte whereas Honeycomb by Bite is more satin in texture, but mostly I use them interchangeably as shade-wise they’re very similar. If I need something quick that I know will go with every look it’ll be one of these that I go for, though recently I’ve been leaning towards the MAC one because I’m running super low on Honeycomb and I can only get it in the States, so when my friend goes there over the summer I’m going to ask her to bring me back two backups! They’re pretty similar in tone but I love them both and I don’t think I could choose between them, so don’t make me.

 

I would love to know what products you would repurchase if all your make-up disappeared and you had to start again, so feel free to leave me a comment sharing yours down below! Thanks for reading guys, you da best xoxox

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’

4 thoughts on “If all my make-up disappeared, what would I repurchase?

  1. I would definitely repurchase the Ulta Rose Gold palette and my it Cosmetics Brow pencil! They are life savers!♥

    Also, If you don’t mind checking out my recent post, it has all the deets about the drama of the beauty world!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

