Beauty · Fab finds - monthly faves

Fab Finds – April!

Happy May, everyone! This year is shooting by faster than I am ready for, and the start of May now means I go to Australia next month. NEXT MONTH. Holy sh*t.

Since I’m going to be living out of a backpack and won’t be able to take all my make-up and skincare, this month has been dedicated to finding things that I won’t want to leave behind when I go, trying to narrow down my collection to live out of one tiny make-up bag for six weeks. I’ve found some absolute gems and rediscovered some old favourites, and there’s even some haircare and skincare included. So without further ado, let’s crack on with my April favourites!

Benefit Galifornia Blusher (£24.50, buy here

I know I’ve already raved about this blusher here on my blog, but I’m going to have to rave about it again. I bloody adore this, and this has definitely been the stand-out make-up item for me this past month. It’s such a beautiful colour, perfect for the summer, and it can be worn as a natural flush of colour for the daytime but also built up for glowing cheeks at night. It smells amazing, it blends into the skin and other powders like a dream, and I really love the packaging – yeah, I know, I’m a sucker for it! I would recommend this to anyone, especially for summer!

NARS Soft Matte Complete Concealer (£23, buy here)

This concealer has been an absolute godsend this month! I have used this basically every day since I bought it, for carving out my brows and to cover any blemishes, and sometimes even under my eyes if I’m feeling lazy. It really is what it claims to be – it’s soft, it’s matte, and it’s complete coverage, which is exactly what I’ve been looking for. I’m not normally one for pot concealers, but this goes on as easy as my Radiant Creamy Concealer, and lasts even longer. You do have to set it, but I can look past that when I feel like I can wear just this on my skin without foundation, something I very rarely do. It’s natural, it’s easy to apply, and it matches me almost exactly. I don’t see myself putting this down any time soon!

Tanya Burr Peachy Glow Cheek Palette (£8, buy here)

This was one of those make-up bits I got given as a present that I was kind of like meh about, one of those that you pop in your drawer and don’t ever reach for again. But after a recent declutter of things, I dug this out again and swatched it on my hand and thought well, maybe this looks more promising than I gave it credit for. And it really is!

For such an affordable product, I am very impressed by the quality. It’s easier to blend than some of my high-end bronzers and blushes, and the colours are actually super beautiful, not chalky, subtle but not too subtle on the skin. On first impressions the bronzer looked a little dark for me, but it’s not too pigmented, which I really like in a bronzer, and it has a little bit of shimmer in there that’s just beautiful. I must admit, I don’t really like the highlighter in the palette, but the blusher and bronzer have been two of my go-tos for the past month. An absolute steal for the price, too. It’s great for all the travelling I do with work, although the packaging is very cheap-feeling, but for the price, again, I can’t complain! Fab product.

BECCA Cosmetics Shimmering Skin Perfector in Prismatic Amethyst (£32, buy here)

IMG_1147

When I first saw that BECCA was coming out with a new highlighter, I already knew that I was getting it before I’d even seen the shade, but then when I saw that it was a holographic purple, it was in my Cult Beauty basket faster than you can say glazed doughnut. This is without a doubt one of the most beautiful highlighters I own, and I own more highlighters than any other make-up product. It’s just so beautiful – it’s not overbearingly purple like a highlight from the Moonchild Glow Kit, for example – but when it catches the light that lavender hue comes through and it’s honestly stunning. All of the BECCA highlighters I’ve ever used have been incredible in formula, pigment, and blendability, and this is absolutely no exception. Plus I’m obsessed with the packaging, and it’s something I’m going to be reaching for loads over the summer. It’s a splurge, as are all BECCA highlighters, but if you’re a glow junkie like I am then this is a summer must-have.

OUAI Texturizing Hair Spray (£22, buy here)

IMG_1153.JPG

I am very aware that £22 is a ridiculous amount of money to spend on a hairspray, but hear me out here. My hair naturally is extremely thin and fine, and I don’t have a lot of it at all. It’s also impossible to straighten or curl for any longer than 4-6 hours, because it just reverts to its normal state of soft and flat regardless of what hair products I use. It always just ends up looking super limp and kinda dull, and I bloody hate it. Until I found this.

I have finally found a product that just gives my hair some texture and it actually seems to hold when I style it. I don’t like my hair to look too done – I prefer a messier vibe when it comes to my hair when it’s up or down – but this just gives it a lil somethin’ somethin’ that fixes all my gripes. It’s a super fine mist and you don’t need a lot at all, so the big bottle will hopefully last me ages. I can also use this on freshly washed and second day hair, which is an added bonus, and it brushes out super easily in between, doesn’t leave my hair feeling crispy or crunchy like some hairsprays do. Sometimes I don’t even need to use a dry shampoo on my second day hair when I’m using this, and even though I’ve seen a few reviews saying that people don’t like the smell, I think it smells nice. Cult Beauty also do a smaller travel size version for less than half the price of the full one, so if you’ve been having hair troubles and want to try this out, I would definitely recommend it!

Embryolisse Lait-Creme Concentrate (£20, buy here)

IMG_1151.JPG

I’ve mentioned in several posts on here that I’m very much in love with the Bobbi Brown Vitamin Enriched Face Base, but at £40 that is very steep. This product is half the price for twice the product, and I think at the moment I love it just as much, if not more. I have heard nothing but rave reviews about this product, and I agree with every single one of them. It’s a moisturising primer, which is something I like to use every single time I do my make-up before I apply a colour-correcting/glowy primer on top, and it is just the most beautiful base for foundation to apply on top of. It leaves my skin feeling a little tacky so my base sticks to it well, but also my skin feels like it’s just drunk a huge glass of water. I also have been using it to sheer out some of my favourite higher coverage foundations, such as the Giorgio Armani Power Fabric, for a softer daytime base that feels like a BB Cream. It needs a little time to sink in, granted, but I tend to apply this all over my face and then do my eyebrows and shadow before I do my base anyway, and it’s perfect. I just love it so much and it is a holy, holy grail product these days if I’m wearing any make-up at all.

Marc Jacobs Le Marc Lip Crème in Surrender Dorothy (£25, buy here)

This lipstick is one I use sparingly because I’m pretty sure this shade is discontinued and it’s literally one of my favourite lipsticks of all time, but this month I’ve found myself reaching for it loads because it’s just so easy. It’s a beautiful blue-toned red but it’s super light and quite sheer in formula, so you don’t need a lipliner or even really to take your time. It’s the kind of red you could put on on the bus or while walking, and I’ve done both those things. On days where I need to be quick and I don’t have time to be faffing with make-up but I still want to look good, adding a red lip is my favourite way to look more put together quickly, and this one is ideal for it. I really don’t know what I’m going to do when I run out of this shade, but the colour Oh, Miley looks similar enough that I might (okay, will definitely) consider purchasing it once this runs out. Which will probably be soon… bad times. And all moping aside, the formula of these lipsticks are incredible, one of my favourites in my make-up collection, so I need to look into picking up a couple more shades anyway.

 

What have you loved throughout April? Please let me know! Thanks for reading everyone, you da best xoxox

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’

 

One thought on “Fab Finds – April!

Leave a Reply

