Beauty · Hauls · Lookbook

Trying Out My New Make-Up Purchases! Maybelline, Benefit, L’Oreal, Ofra x NikkieTutorials and more!

Surprise, surprise, I bought more make-up!

Buuuut Superdrug has been having a 3 for 2 on everything all month, so I made an executive decision to make my three items three bloody good ones and then not to go in there again, and you know what? I think I did really good. I’m super happy with all three of my purchases, and also shoutout to the manager of my local Superdrug who knows me so well by now she let me make a cheeky purchase of something that wasn’t even on the shelves until yesterday two weeks early. The real MVP if ever there was one.

This month was also the release of Ofra’s collab with NikkieTutorials, which has been on everyone’s Instagram, Twitter and YouTube channel and I just… I’m a sucker for a gorgeous highlight, okay? And I’ve always wanted to try Ofra, and I got a bit more in my pay packet than I was expecting, and… look, I just love make-up, okay? I  CAN’T HELP WHO I AM.

So without me rambling on for hours and hours about why I bought make-up that I wanted anyway, I’ve got six things here that I’ve picked up or been gifted this month that I’ve been dying to try. I created the make-up look below with it, and I’m obsessed, especially with the skin. I’ve been trying to use a lighter coverage base recently and this foundation is perfect for this, and this highlight. DAMN.

Let’s get into it!

I primed my skin with my Smashbox Primer Water and my BECCA Backlight Priming Filter as I do fairly regularly, because I’ve found this is one of the best combos to wear under this foundation to give me the most incredible healthy glow to my skin. The foundation I’m going to use is a satin finish, I’d say, and I don’t need to use a huge amount of powder to set it either, so my skin looks fab and healthy and glowy and exactly what I’ve been trying to achieve for so long.

I’m sure you’re absolutely on the edge of your seat to find out what this foundation is, huh?

Maybelline Dream Cushion Foundation (£13.99, buy here)

IMG_1172

I bloody adore this.

This feels like the foundation that I’ve been looking for for so long. It’s beautiful on the skin, absolutely bloody stunning, and it’s pretty much the only foundation I’ve worn since I got it. It’s a cushion foundation, which means it’s in this handy little compact where there’s a little cushion saturated with product. I dunk my beauty blender straight it and blend it out all over my face, and it’s effortless. It blends in easily and doesn’t look cakey or too obviously like I’m wearing foundation. It does break up a little bit over my nose after about four to six hours, but most foundations seem to do that anyway, and the fact that the compact is so easy to just chuck in your handbag means you can just touch it up on the go anyway. It even comes with a handy dandy sponge.

(Sidenote: when I went on the Superdrug website to link this product it turns out the shade selection is absolutely WANK, so there is that. If you’re medium to deep skin toned then it looks like there’s literally one shade for you to choose from, which is crap. Maybelline, sort this out.)

I then used my Tarte Shape Tape in Fair to brighten and my Nars Soft Matte Complete Concealer to spot conceal, then set my face with my MAC Studio Fix powder. I contoured with my Kevyn Aucoin Sculpting Powder in Light, bronzed with a touch of Hoola, then moved on to my new favourite blusher.

Benefit Galifornia Blush (£24.50, buy here)

IMG_1186

I thought I didn’t need this blush in my life when I swatched it in Boots. I was wrong.

This is the only blush I’ve worn since I got this – my mum bought me this as an Easter present and from then on I’ve not even wanted to wear another blush. It smells absolutely incredible, like sun cream and vanilla, and it just makes you look so glowy and healthy and rosy. I’ve been trying to focus on my skin over eyes and lips with my make-up these days, and this is perfect for that because it can be subtle, just a light flush of colour, but you can also build it up if you want to. When I swatched it on the back of my hand in the shop it didn’t look like much, but on the cheeks it’s some kind of pinky-goldy-witchcraft, I swear, definitely a staple for me as we come into summer. I don’t see me changing my blush up any time soon and this is one of my favourite things I’ve tried this month for sure.

Ofra x NikkieTutorials collaboration – Everglow Highlighter (£55 for the whole collection, buy here)

IMG_1179.JPG

Hoooooly crap. Nikkie was not playing around with this highlighter.

This is intense AF. This is not for the faint-hearted, that’s for sure, and it’s definitely not something I would reach for day to day. Having said that, it is bloody beautiful but I wouldn’t have expected anything less from Nikkie, who is well known for her love of a blinding highlight. There are three colours in the highlight pinwheel, ones that would work for all different skin tones, and if there’s a portion that doesn’t work then they could definitely be used as stunning eyeshadows. I mixed the light and medium shade together for my cheek highlight and just used the light shade for my nose and inner corner, and wow. Wow.

If I was going to say anything negative about it, the product itself feels hecka delicate, like if you were to even finger swatch it with too much pressure in the wrong place it could shatter completely. Not one I would risk taking travelling, but definitely a beauty for nights out and days you want to be seen from China, and one I can’t wait to play around with more.

Now onto the eyes.

MUA Burning Embers Palette (£8, buy here)

IMG_1184

I saw this palette in Superdrug and instantly fell in love. I had heard about this palette before and the last time I went to seek it out it was sold out, so I’d forgotten about it until I saw it again and I just knew it had to be mine. The shades are exactly what I look for in a palette: a mix of mattes and shimmers, a variety of versatile browns, and it’s a collection of colours I’ve not seen in such an affordable palette before. Obviously it’s not the bestest quality eyeshadow in the world – some are more pigmented than others, and I would definitely recommend using some Fix+ or another setting spray to really get the full potential out of the shimmers, but for 8 quid you’re getting 25 stunning eyeshadows in a palette that really is dreamy. I remember buying my first MUA palette when I was fifteen, and it was well loved and pretty much the only palette I used for a few years, so it’s a brand I can’t help but feel nostalgic over. This is definitely a step up in quality from then, and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a varied and affordable palette.

L’Oreal Miss Baby Roll Mascara in Black (£7.99, buy here)

IMG_1175

This mascara is EVERYTHING. I think this mascara has overtaken my love for the L’Oreal False Lash Sculpt mascara, and that is a bold claim. I was very much sucked in by the telly advert for this, but I’m glad I was. It isn’t lying when it says Mega Volume, that’s for sure, and it really holds a curl throughout the day. I don’t even find I need to curl my lashes with this, which always feels like an extra step I could do without, and the brush is actually really good at catching onto both big and small lashes, which gives a nice even look all over. It also doesn’t smudge on my lower lashes, which I love! I’ve been using the Maybelline Lash Sensational for a while now, but it smudges horribly on my lower lashes, and this has all but replaced it permanently in my day to day routine. It also comes in a variety of fun colours – indigo, violet, and teal – and I’m keen to pick up a couple for some colourful summer looks.

And finally, the lips.

Ofra x NikkieTutorials collaboration – Long Lasting Liquid Lipstick in Coven (£55 for the set, buy here)

IMG_1217.JPG

Urghhhh, I was weak for this set from the very beginning. At the start I was a little put out that you couldn’t buy each item individually, but each item is actually really great and I’m glad I own all of it. The lip colours are bloody stunning, and this shade – Coven – is beautiful on the lips. It’s one of the few times I’ve tried a metallic lipstick on and felt it looked flattering, not too much like pure metal but definitely noticeable when the light catches. The other two colours – Nude Potion (which I could probably live without to be honest, it’s a beautiful pinky nude but I have twenty other very similar lipsticks) and Spell (an absolutely beautiful neon coral that is unlike anything else I’ve ever come across) have the same formula, comfortable on the lips and not at all drying, and when they say long lasting, they really mean it. I’ve not always been the biggest fan of liquid lipsticks, but this is without a doubt one of my favourite formulas that I’ve tried so far.

 

If you had to get one thing from this list, I’d definitely say it should be the blusher! The foundation feels like a close second, but again I’m not mad about the shade range, and I’ll need to give the highlight/lippies a few more tries before I can say for sure they’re worth £55. Ofra is now stocked on BeautyBay so if you want to try the liquid lip formula you could pick just one up from there – the colour selection is stunning and I’m definitely looking to pick up a few more soon! Best bargain goes to the palette, which is the only palette I took away with me with work last week, and I’m excited to play around with more looks as the eye look I went for is rather simple because I wanted the focus of my look to be the lips.

Let me know if you’ve tried any of these and what your thoughts are down below! I always love hearing your opinions! Thanks for reading, you da best xoxox

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’

One thought on “Trying Out My New Make-Up Purchases! Maybelline, Benefit, L’Oreal, Ofra x NikkieTutorials and more!

Leave a Reply

