Beauty · Skincare

My Everyday Skincare Routine

Hi everyone! Today I thought I’d talk about something other than make-up but still with a beauty focus, and that’s skincare! I spend a lot of time and money on my skincare routine because I have very problematic skin, and if my skin ain’t looking good then neither is my make-up. I’ve recently had a bit of a revamp of my routine, both morning and night, and I’ve really reigned in the amount of products I use. I feel like it’s improved a lot in the past few months, and even though I still suffer with acne here and there, it really is so much better than it was six months ago.

For reference I have dry, acne-prone and sensitive skin, which is a delight, let me tell you. I use moisturising primers under my make-up (usually the Bobbi Brown Vitamin Enriched Face Base or the Kat Von D Lock It Primer) and I’ve stopped using oils recently because I’m pretty sure they’re breaking me out.

Morning:

Murad Blemish Control Clarifying Cleanser (£19.50, buy here)

IMG_1079

About six months ago my skin was in a really bad place, and I am pretty certain it was this product that helped bring my skin back to life. I have never had cleaner feeling skin than I have had since using this. It says it works best for oily skin, but even though I’m a dry girl I feel like it doesn’t make my skin too dry or flaky. It gets rid of all excess make-up and all the gunk under my pores that could cause spots, and I feel like the amount of spots I’ve had since has significantly reduced. The tube is huge too – I’ve had it since October and I’m still not done. And it’s not too expensive either, which is fab. If you have acne and your skin is feeling generally pretty gross, then I would definitely suggest giving this a try!

Pixi Glow Tonic with Glycolic Acid (£10 for a bottle this size, buy here)

IMG_1080.JPG

I recently started using this again after about a year off it, and the difference it’s made to my skin this time is so much more noticeable than it was before. This has made the world of difference in terms of my acne scars and my textured bumps of spots that are being troublesome, and it just makes my skin look so much more glowy and bright. I only bought a little bottle because I wanted to see if it made much difference, and I definitely will be buying the bigger size soon.

Nip + Fab Hydrate Dragon’s Blood Fix Plumping Serum (£19.95, buy here)

IMG_1081.JPG

This serum is so hydrating and it just makes my skin feel and look so healthy! It’s made it feel a lot less dry all the time, and my skin really feels a lot more tight and a lot less generally gross with prolonged use. I’ve also noticed that my skin feels tighter and considerably plumper, particularly across the forehead and cheekbones. I’m on my third bottle and I’ve just repurchased a fourth, and I can’t see myself swapping from this any time soon. When I revamped my old skincare routine into this new one, this and the cleanser stayed and I didn’t even consider getting rid of them, which says a lot.

Pixi H2O Skindrink Pure Hydration Gel (£24, buy here)

IMG_1085

If we’re being honest, this is probably the thing in my routine I’m least crazy about. I like the product – it’s lightweight and doesn’t take long to absorb into your skin before make-up, it’s cooling and softening, and it smells fab too – but it’s very pricey for not a lot of product and it really stings my eyes. I’ve been using this particular tube for just under a month and it’s nearly empty, so I’ve made an order from Nip + Fab for their Kale Fix one. If you got more bang for your buck I’d probably like it a lot more, to be honest.

Ultrasun Face SPF 30 for Sensitive Skin (£20, buy here)

IMG_1087.JPG

When using products like the Glow Tonic (and also just as general good sense) it’s wise to use an SPF in the mornings under your make-up or just on your skin if you’re going outside. I’m not usually too picky with my SPFs – I’ve been using one from the Body Shop for a long time, that ran out, and I found this in my drawers from my M&S Beauty Advent Calendar – and it’s really good so far. I’ve only been using it for about a week, so my feelings aren’t super strong, but I like it so far, would recommend.

 

By Terry Cellularose Brightening CC Lumi-Serum in Apricot Glow (£61, buy here)

This is totally a luxury and super-duper extravagant, but I really like it so far. I wear this on days I’m either not wearing make-up or not wearing foundation, and it makes your skin look glowy, healthy, and bright. It’s really a your-skin-but-better product, and it is extremely luxurious and unnecessary, but it’s my little added bonus that makes me feel a little bit better in my natural skin when I’m going bare.

IMG_1088.JPG

Evening:

Pixi + Caroline Hirons Double Cleanse (£24, buy here)

Goddammit, I love this product so damn much. This is the best make-up remover I’ve ever used, hands down – it makes my skin feel so much cleaner than any other make-up remover and it’s so easy to use. There are two products here, an oil to break down the make-up and then once you’ve rinsed the bulk off, there’s a cream to get any excess. And it works, it really works. I hope this isn’t limited edition because I want to keep using this for a long, long, long time. It’s my second favourite product in this whole list.

First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream (£10-£24, buy here)

This advertises itself as ‘Intense Hydration for Dry Parched Skin’ and it honestly, really is. It’s a little too much for me to use in the mornings before make-up, but I could not do without this product as my night-time moisturiser. I have gone through tubes and tubes of this because I’ve never found anything that makes my skin feel this soothed and hydrated after a heavy day of make-up, cold weather or drinking. An absolute must-have for me, and definitely my holy grail skincare item.

(For some reason the photos for these things just won’t load, but you’ve got the links if you want to know what they look like/more info!)

Special shoutouts here to various sheet masks, the ELF Hydrating Bubble Mask, and the NUXE Reve De Miel lip balm for also being there for me in times of need.

I would love any recommendations of yours so please feel free to leave some in the comments below. Thanks for reading everyone, you da best xoxox

 

One thought on “My Everyday Skincare Routine

Leave a Reply

